Nagykanizsa (Csónakázó-tó – Boating lake)-Fityeház-Murakeresztúr-Semjénháza-Molnári-Nagykanizsa
Seven settlements constitute the one and only minority area of Southern Zala. The about 8000 citizens living here consider themselves Croatian and have maintained their unique traditions, customs, everyday objects and language, too. This tour includes four settlements out of the seven. Its main goal is to present the cultural and natural values of the area. The route covers about 45 kilometres so it is easy and recommended for every age group and any other groups.
The first recommended stop of the tour starting from Nagykanizsa (Csónakázó-tó – Boating lake) can be found in the town. After the route crosses the centre, it is worth stopping at the beautifully renovated Erzsébet square. Erzsébet square is closed by the three-storey building of the Town Hall on the west. The Vasemberház (Ironman House) can be found at the square, which was built in Baroque style in the 18th century. Originally it was the inn of the Batthyány family. Later shops and flats were established on the ground floor. The northern part of the square is the courtyard of the Kiskastély (Little Castle). Here the Hungarian Poster House can be seen, which is unique in the country. There is also a Neo-classic villa (Kiskastély) that functions as a gallery with the pictures of Erzsébet Brunner and Erzsébet Sass Brunner on display.
The first settlement inhabited by Croatian people is Fityeház that is situated near the River Mura, along the Principális channel. It has had a railway station since the 1890s. In 1991 a memorial was erected at the Alkotmány square in the memory of the heroes of the First and Second World Wars. At the same place there is another monument, the Pieta statue that was made in a folk late Baroque style. The Traditional Folk Songs Ensemble of Fityeház has a performance at every important event. They sing Hungarian and Croatian folk songs collected among the Croatian people in Zala County.
Murakeresztúr got its name after the Benedictine monastery built in honour of the Holy Cross that already existed in 1347. The new abbey was built between 1810 and1818. The village is proud to present the Zrínyi Miklós General Cultural Centre that consists of a primary school, two kindergartens, a cultural centre and a library. The school is a primary school concerned with the education of the Croatian minority. Those preferring paddling tours have the chance to try themselves on the River Mura under organised conditions.
One of the famous sights of Molnári is its Roman Catholic church. The wooden carved Pan-European memorial is considered to be unique. Those interested in nature will enjoy the relaxing place established on the bank of the River Mura. The river is a paradise for anglers.
Semjénháza is a devoted supporter of cycling tourism so visitors as well as the inhabitants of the local and neighbouring settlements can use the services of a bike rental company in order to be able to discover the area by means of rented bikes. Visiting the hills surrounding the settlement offers special touristic, oenological and culinary pleasures to visitors. Among the built heritage the Saint Anne church, the memorials of the World Wars and the protected wine press houses are the outstanding ones.